April 22, 2010

An Unexpected Post

Posted in Book Reviews, Korea, Theology/Christian life, Together for the Gospel at 7:42 pm by catsinboxes

Originally I was going to title this post, “A Long Expected Post.”  The allusion was to the first chapter of Tolkien’s Fellowship of the Ring.  But then I realized that my readers had probably given up hope weeks earlier of the possibility of any new posts.  So, I decided to title this post in honor of The Hobbit’s first chapter, allusion intended.

Now, my surprised reader, I will answer the question that you very fairly are asking . . . “Why haven’t you been posting???”  There are two answers to that question.  Firstly, I’ve been quite busy with some unexpected (you know, I just like that word today!) developments.  Secondly, I was out of town most of last week at the Together for the Gospel Conference.

The conference was wonderful, absolutely wonderful.  In fact, there are not strong enough words to describe just how good it was.  Not only that, it was very challenging and encouraging.  There were over 7,000 people attending.  Mostly it was men, but I heard that about 10% of that number were women.  That made quite a difference . . . especially when it came to restroom lines.  I could have laughed as I went trotting into the ladies’ bathroom, past the long line of men patiently queuing up for their bathroom.

I can’t wait for the next conference, in 2012.  We’re certainly going.  Until then, I have a lot of reading to do.   Conference attendees were given lots of books (their total worth is more than the cost of registration!).  So, I have about twenty new books, and I’d like to read through all of them.  I’ve started with Thabiti Anyabwhile’s excellent and very readable What is a Healthy Church Member?.

Much to Kelsey’s horror, I am actually annotating (fancy word for writing/highlighting) in my books as I read them.  I’ve found it’s an excellent way of retaining knowledge and marking down passages that I particularly like or find challenging.

I’ve also been reading a little of Joshua Harris’ Boy Meets Girl: Say Hello to Courtship.

Joshua Harris was a breakout speaker at the conference.  Kelsey went to his session, and so did several thousand other people.  I took a bit of pride in making up the minority of people not attending Joshua Harris’ breakout session.  Before I say any more, I really like Joshua Harris and his writing, I just didn’t feel like going to Joshua Harris’ session.  (It’s a rebel streak in me that refuses to go with the flow!)

Anyway, now that the conference is over, I’ve started reading Joshua Harris.  I really enjoy the challenge of his books, and they  encourage me to grow and increase in godliness so that, when “boy meets girl”, I’ll be spiritually ready!

My goal, as I continue reading, is to do individual posts about books I have read, or topics and passages in them that I find thought provoking.

Besides that reading, I’ve also been reading about Korea.  I’m prospectively going to spending two months there this summer.  One in Seoul and one (from what it sounds like) in a smaller city in the southern part of South Korea called Jinju.

This morning I started studying Korean.  I’m using a book called Read & Speak Korean for Beginners.

It’s very good and not nearly as daunting as part of me was expecting.  Hanguel (Korean script) only has 24 characters and is very phonetic.  Even after my first lesson, I’m starting to see a pattern.

So, that’s where I am.  I do intend to do more posts soon.  Please don’t give up on this blog.  I hate inconsistent blogs just as much as you do . . . maybe even more!  I just hope  I update my blog enough that my posts don’t become “long-expected.”  (Hah, worked in the allusion at the end … so there!)

Leave a Reply

