July 31, 2010

Gyeongbokgung Palace

Posted in Korea at 1:10 pm by catsinboxes

Two days ago I went to my first palace.  It was amazing.  This palace, Gyeongbokgung, was used during the Joseon Dynasty, the last Korean dynasty before the Japanese occupation in 1910.

This is the throne room where the King viewed his subjects. In Korean it is called Geunjeongjeon

With a traditionally dressed Joseon guard

A view of the walls surrounding the Geunjeongjeon compound.

Leading up to the throne room there were lots of carved animals, all the animals of the zodiac and some others. I'm not sure what this one is!

I loved this rooster!

I've been experimenting with different angles. Do you like this one?

The royal throne

I love the beams and the details; it's so different.

Another angle: this one has been alternatively liked and pronounced a cause for motion sickness!

Well, that’s all the pictures for now, but I will be posting more within the next few days.  I’d love to know what you think of these!

1 Comment »

  1. kristen said,

    Cool pictures–beautiful palace! Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

