April 24, 2011

He Has Risen!

Posted in Theology/Christian life at 6:16 pm by catsinboxes

They were tired, they were scared.  Three days.  Three days ago it had happened.  It was unspeakable, unthinkable, and yet it had happened.  Their faces showed their pain, their bewilderment, their grief.  So many emotions, and all the time, trying to shut out the blackness, the memory of all that had occured. . . but then the empty tomb, the angels . . . the news.  He is not here, He has risen!

Those words hold so much meaning, but isn’t it easy to forget it?   I know it is for me.  It’s Easter!  Happy Easter, He Lives, He is Risen . . . my Savior lives.  I love the words, but I’m concerned with how easily I can let them wash over me.  I don’t want that to happen.  I don’t want to lose just what these words mean.

I try to think through the words.  I think of the context, like I tried to create above.  These were real people, and I try to grasp the realness of the events.  Living, breathing, hurting people . . . I wish I could see them as they realized the news.  Their Lord was risen! 

And it’s so personal, isn’t it?  Jesus took my sins.  He took my place and bore the wrath of God.  He died for me.  But He’s alive, He’s risen.  How can I not speak of this?  How can I not live my ALL for Him?  I thought today how ridiculous it would be to say to Jesus, “Yes, I know that you did all of that, and I’m very thankful, but I don’t have a lot of time.  I’ll do my best to read the Bible everyday, I’ll go to church, I’ll try to give you all of my Sunday . . .”  How horribly wrong is that?  But how easily I slip into that with a theological checklist.  And realizing this, I pray.  I pray that I would live for Him, for Him alone in everything.  And there is so much to live for:

He’s my King, my Savior.  He is my Risen Lord!  I’m going to close by sharing one of my favorite songs.  Enjoy it, and have a wonderful Easter Sunday.

Leave a Reply

