April 27, 2011

Tuesday Thoughts

Posted in Japan, Just Life, Theology/Christian life at 2:11 am by catsinboxes

March 11, 2011 . . . just another Friday.  On my way into work, checking my Facebook newsfeed, I noticed a link for a music video.  It was for a song called “Praise you in this storm.”  I listened to it, and I thought it was pretty good.

March 12, 2011 . . . Walking back to my host family’s apartment, I listen to the song again.  I really like it.

April 26, 2011 . . . So much going on my life, a lot of uncertainty.  While I work on this post, I listen to the song.  I’m grinning wryly because I used to be a bit of snob when it came to Christian music.  Looking back, over the past month, I can see where God has been working in my life.  I know He has a plan for my life, I know His plan is perfect, but I’m used to also having my own gameplan.  It’s not like that anymore.  I don’t know what next week will be like, where I will be in two weeks, but I know He is in control.  One verse that I love and that I often think of during this time is Philippians 4:6-7.

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.  And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

To be honest, right now part of me is screaming, “But God, I WANT to know what’s going on!”  But the other part is saying quietly, “God, you know my heart.  You know I’m not very happy, but I know that you are in control.  Please give me strength to praise and glorify you during this time.”  And so I pray, and I write, and I praise God during this “storm” in my life.

*Looking for the right video to post, I came upon this.  It’s hard to watch, but I thought it was right.

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks for sharing, Haley. It’s always an encouragement to hear how others learn to glorify God in the middle of their “storms.”

  2. catsinboxes said,

    Thank you, Hannah! I’m glad my post was able to encourage someone 🙂


Leave a Reply

