June 3, 2011

Reflections on blogging

Posted in Theology/Christian life at 7:31 pm by catsinboxes

I was thinking wryly of Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 the other day.  What if we applied the principle to 21st century life?  “A time to tweet, and a time to refrain from tweeting; a time to blog and a time to keep silent.”

Today, as I finished reading Dug Down Deep by Joshua Harris, one particular point caught my eye regarding blogging.  (And that book is full of great points; it is definitely a book to read with a highlighter!)

Here’s the quote that brought up blogging:

Do you want to keep your orthodoxy humble?  Try to live it.  Don’t spend all your time theorizing about it, debating it, or blogging about it.  Spend more energy living the truth you know than worrying about what the next guy does or doesn’t know.  Don’t measure yourself by what you know.  Measure yourself by your practice of what you know.

~Dug Down Deep, pg. 226

Ouch.  That’s a very good jolt for an analytically inclined blogger.  At this point in my life, much as I love blogging, I need to focus on living my faith.  Sometimes I get to the end of the day and am faced by a choice; to blog or to spend my time studying the Bible and reading through our library of theological books.  And not just reading or studying, I need to live my faith.

I’m not going to stop blogging, but I have a feeling I won’t be around much for the next couple of weeks.  If the time is right, I’ll write.  (Unintentional, but pun intended!)

Until then, enjoy your summer!  And take time to read.  You could read Dug Down Deep.  Or, another great read would be Radical by David Platt.  I can feel myself getting started on books, but I need to stop.  Real life is calling, and I’m off to practice a piano duet . . .

Leave a Reply

