September 4, 2011

Sunday Snippets

Posted in Blogging, Book Reviews, Faith, Theology/Christian life at 5:43 pm by catsinboxes

I hope you like the title.  In search of something to blog about, I employed ‘apt alliteration’s artful aid.’  I’d like to thank D. Martyn Lloyd-Jones for introducing me to that expression, compliments of the book Preaching & Preachers.  Incidentally, I first heard the prhase during a time when I was consistently hearing sermons using that method.  As a note-taker, I had come to dread the “cleverness” of alliteration Sunday after Sunday, so I heartily appreciated the tongue-in-cheek alliterative critique!

To be truthful though, I’m in the process of figuring out what I would like to do on Sundays for blogging, and if I even should blog on Sundays.  I try to be intentional in how I spend my Sundays, so my inclination – if  I post – would be to do something short and sweet and Sunday related.

For this week, I’m going to share two things: the current theological book I’m reading and one of my current favorite worship songs.

1.  Current theological book ~ Jonathan Edwards on True Christianity (The Essential Edwards Collection) by Owen Strachan and Doug Sweeney

Initial impressions: I just began this, but I really enjoy the writing style.  It is crisp, insightful, and thought-provoking.  I’m looking forward to writing more about it!

2.  Encouraging worship song of the week ~ Desert Song by Hilsong United.  A bit of background about this idea: I find it interesting how at different periods of my spiritual life, different songs/hymns are very encouraging.  I have some that are continual favorites but others that come and go, very relevant at one point and simply encouraging at another.  Two weeks ago we sang Desert Song during our church’s worship service, and I found it very encouraging.  I love how the lyrics are grounded on Scripture; it adds a lot of depth to the song itself.

Leave a Reply

