January 25, 2012

A Puppy’s Perspective

Posted in Cats, Humor, Just Life tagged , , at 8:08 pm by catsinboxes

20120125-213101.jpg

“Toby!” I do my best to sound reproachful. No movement. I try again,

“Toby!!” This time more emphasis and more reproach. Two dark eyes stare innocently at me.

“Toby; you get down right now!” I’m starting to get a reaction. He starts to move, just a little bit. I play hardball.

“You know what Mommy says!” Maybe it’s my imagination, but this tact works. He uncurls and hops off the couch. Then he sashays up to me, tail wagging apologetically, giving me his I-know-I’ve-been-naughty squinty eyes. I can’t help it, I pet him, but still scold.

We’ve had an audience the whole time. Two cats in the midst of their morning nap on the other couch. Duncan slumbers on, ignoring the disturbance, but Kitty-Kitty, ever the social one, is stretching and trying to attract my attention. I can imagine Toby’s thought process. I don’t know what your problem is, look at them! They sleep on the couch all the time! They even sleep on Mommy’s bed. Why can’t I take a nap on the couch now and then, huh? It’s just not fair. I think you like them better . . .

I answer Toby’s thoughts out loud,

“I know it’s not fair, but if we wanted to keep cats off of furniture, they would have to live outside.” And it’s true. Cats are simply cats, and that’s just what we expect. Dogs are supposed to be loyal and obedient and subservient to man. Cats? There’s a reason that Rudyard Kipling wrote in his Just So stories about “The Cat Who Walked by Himself.” It’s just the way they are, and I love them for it!

 

Leave a Reply

