April 1, 2012

Hello Seattle . . . amongst other ramblings

Posted in Blogging, Books, Just Life tagged , , , , at 4:30 pm by catsinboxes

I got to see this two weeks ago; I love Seattle!  It was my first time (going as a baby doesn’t count, does it?).  Anyway, I thoroughly enjoyed everything, especially Pike Place Market.  So, that explains why I didn’t blog last week . . . I have to say that I was thrilled with the success of my Hunger Games post.  That post received the most traffic and likes/comments of anything I have ever written.  It was hard trying to think of a follow-up.  Especially since I haven’t watched the Hunger Games movie.  I haven’t.  I know, I know: it’s supposed to be good, it stuck to the book, Katniss is more likeable (that is a really good selling point for me!), but still, I haven’t watched it.  Partly it’s because life has been so busy.  But honestly, I don’t want to see it.  I’ve read the book, I know what happens.  I just don’t want to see it, I don’t want to see Rue die.  I don’t want to watch the mutts attacking Cato.  I don’t want to see Katniss killing people.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s not the concept of violence.  I love the Lord of the Rings movies, that has to count!  I really enjoy Patriot Games and Clear and Present Danger, but that’s different.  I just don’t want to see the images I have read in the Hunger Games.  I’d really rather just leave them in print.

Speaking of dystopia, I read Divergent on my trip back from Seattle.  I really enjoyed it, and I’ll be reviewing it sometime in the near future.  I think it still raises some issues for Christian readers, but I like the tone much better than Hunger Games.  I think Veronica Roth captures humanity much better than Suzanne Collins.  Also, I like Beatrice Prior (issues and all) much more than Katniss Everdeen!

What else to write?  Oh yes!  Last week, while holding down the fortress, I rediscovered one of my favorite read-aloud series . . .

Freddy the Pig.  I LOVE the Freddy series!  If you are in need of a read-aloud, choose Freddy.  After dealing with bleak dystopia, Freddy offers such a healthy dose of reality!  Each book in the series relates the adventures of Freddy the pig, and the other animals who live on the Bean farm.  These animals are special; they can talk.  They each have wonderful personalities, with strengths and weaknesses just like humans.  Jinx, the black cat, has to be one of my favorite characters.  He is sarcastic and a bit of a braggart, but a loyal friend.  (For the record, I named my first cat Jinx.)  Walter R. Brooks is a wonderful author, and the vocabulary used in Freddy is excellent.  All in all, it is one of my all-time favorite series.  It is one that an adult can enjoy; there are times when it has me laughing so hard I can hardly keep reading.  Thankfully my younger siblings are forgiving and will laugh with me till I can manage to keep reading.

I think that’s all for now.  Please forgive the rambling nature of this post; I hope you were able to glean something from all of it!

Comment time!  What do you think about the Hunger Games movie?  Is there anyone out there who has my reservations?  And what do you think of Divergent compared to Hunger Games?  Or . . . kudos point if you decide to comment about Freddy the Pig;  I’d take Freddy over dystopia any day!  

Leave a Reply

