August 28, 2012

Summer

Posted in Faith, Favorite Quotes, Just Life at 1:38 pm by catsinboxes

After a summer away, working at Camp Forest Springs, I’m finally home for good.  This past Saturday was my last day.  It was time to pack up and say goodbyes.  But it’s not the end, it’s just the beginning of a new season.  There’s no way I can put into words everything that I learned, all the things that happened this summer.  But in this post, I’m going to try to give you a glimpse of my summer:

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.  Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you.  You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.  I will be found by you, declares the Lord . . .”  ~Jeremiah 29:11-14a

This was one of my theme verses going into the summer.  I love plans, and I love making my own plans.  In early 2012, as I thought about different summer jobs, I had my own plans.  I knew about Camp, but it was on the back burner.  I was too busy with my own ideas, but increasingly I felt convicted that I needed to trust God and seek His will for the summer.  So, I prayed in mid-January that He would close doors and make it obvious where I should go.  Within a day, I had one door slammed shut.  My mental picture is that of a window crashing closed.  Then, gradually, bit by bit, God started changing my heart and showing me Camp Forest Springs no matter where I turned.  It’s so neat how He gave me an excitement and desire to work at Camp.  It’s by His grace and plan that I ended up working at camp this summer, and the glory is His alone.

“But the Lord said to me, ‘Do not say, “I am only a youth”; for to all to whom I send you, you shall go, and whatever I command you, you shall speak.  Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you to deliver you, declares the Lord.’ ”  ~Jeremiah 1:7-8

During counselor training, a lot of us were nervous, apprehensive.  Counseling is a huge responsibility!  Early on I found this verse in Jeremiah.  It seemed to be speaking right to me, don’t be afraid of them ~the campers . . . don’t be afraid of them ~the junior high campers, for I am with you.  And He was, so many times I saw His grace at work.  Throughout the summer His grace was sufficient for me, His power was made perfect in my weakness.

Oh Lord, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth! You have set your glory above the heavens.  Out of the mouth of babies and infants, you have established strength . . . When I look at your heavens, the work of your fingers . . . what is man that you are mindful of him, and the son of man, that you care for him?  Yet you have made him a little lower than the heavenly beings and crowned him with glory and honor.

Oh Lord, our Lord, how majestic is your name!

His name is great.  I saw Him at work this summer, grace provided in so many ways, from giving me strength to little graces, the beauty of grass in the sunset.  God has done so much, He has brought me so far.  I’m excited to be home, excited for the fall, excited to see Him continue to work.  For He has a plan for me, and I am seeking it, seeking it with my whole heart by His grace alone.

Leave a Reply

