November 2, 2012

A New Reason to Blog and a Book Review

Posted in Blogging, Book Reviews, Jane Austen, Just Life at 10:10 pm by catsinboxes

Since I began blogging, I have had many inducements to blog.  The greatest has been my love of writing, especially writing about books.  Then there’s been the guilt factor, I haven’t blogged since when???  Quickly following the guilt factor has been the continual resolution factor, I will post once a week, I will post regularly.  But, if a reader were to peruse my blog they would realize that neither the second nor tertiary factor have prevailed.  But, recently I have discovered a new inducement which might -if exercised judiciously- get me to blog faithfully.  And that inducement is the growing library fine.  With monetary loss hanging over my head, I feel the need to blog much more urgently!

And what is the book that has brought me to a state of pecuniary problems?  Before I continue, I should make something clear.  My writing (and choice of vocabulary words) is right now being subconsciously affected by Jane Austen.  It’s an affect I have noticed before, and while I don’t mind at all, I feel that it does require an explanation!

Now, back to the overdue library book which is causing this blog post.

This was a “first” for me in several respects.  It was the first book I have read about economics and the first book I have read about food.  I saw it recommended in World Magazine, and I thought it sounded intriguing.  I found it was in our library system, so I checked it out and began to read.

If you like to save money, if you like food, and if you want to understand how economics related to food works, then this is the book for you!  It was an enjoyable read and very informative.  Tyler Cowen loves food, and throughout the books he adds examples from his personal experience.  This book is full of practical information: Asian supermarkets tend to have the best -and cheapest- produce . . . good food at a good price is more likely to be found in an out-of-the-way location than in an expensive area since business will depend more on a loyal clientele drawn by good cooking . . . Pakistani restaurants tend to be more authentic than Indian restaurants because they cater toward a narrower audience which expects authentic Pakistani food.  These and many more interesting facts (did you know that some of the best French restaurants in the world -outside of France- are in Japan?) can be found within this book.  Tyler Cowen manages to cover a whole host of subjects in 11 chapters.  Eco-concious readers will appreciate his chapter on ‘Eating Your Way to a Greener Planet.’  I found it very interesting, and while I wouldn’t say I agree with all of his conclusions, I definitely see his logic!

One of the best things, for me, about reading An Economist Gets Lunch was the timing.  I read Chapter 4: The Rules for Finding a Good Place to Eat right before heading on a trip to Louisville, Kentucky.  From that point on, armed with a host of rules for finding good, inexpensive food, I was on a mission.  With the help of Tyler Cowen’s tips, and reviews from The Urban Spoon, we ate very well while we were in Louisville: Mediterranean food, burgers, and barbecue -amazing barbecue!  If I were a food blogger, I’d now produce many delicious pictures of said food.  But alas, I am not.  Maybe someday I’ll go into that, but for now you’ll have to content yourself with my assurance that the food was excellent.

So, with the Christmas season approaching, An Economist Gets Lunch is a perfect present for a book-loving friend who also loves food and has a streak of Scotch blood.

There, now my blogging conscience has been assuaged, and I will return this book to the library as quickly as possible.  And, many apologies to the person who put it on hold and is right now wondering why I won’t return it!  I wanted to return it, I really did, I just needed to blog about it first!

Leave a Reply

