March 11, 2013

Ukraine???

Posted in Adoption, Blogging, Faith, Just Life at 9:40 pm by catsinboxes

I just got back from a trip to New Orleans and Mississippi, just got back.  Saturday night, pretty late, I arrived home.  I didn’t have many plans for Sunday, church in the morning, baby shower in the afternoon, and then just take it easy.  After all, I’d just gotten back, and I needed to rest up before the week began.

Things have changed a little since Sunday.  I’m going to Ukraine tomorrow.  Yes, that is correct, you did just read Ukraine.

You see on Sunday evening, my family learned of another family, a family who is adopting two little girls from Ukraine.  This family had a need, an urgent need, for a traveling companion to assist the mom in bringing her two new daughters home.  The necessary qualifications were a passport and an open schedule.  I had both.

So now, in less than 24 hours, I’m getting on a plane for Ukraine.  My suitcase is sitting on the table next to me, waiting for some finishing touches.  My cat can tell that something is brewing, and she does not approve.

Yes, if you can’t tell, I’m very excited.  But I’m not just excited about the trip, no, there is much more to my excitement than that.  I am so excited by God’s plan, by a series of events that fell into place so neatly, so perfectly.  For over a year, it has been my dream to go to Ukraine, to serve in some capacity, doing short-term mission work with Ukrainian orphans.  I had no time-frame for my dream, but since I’m about to start college, I knew it wasn’t going to happen anytime soon.  I just hoped, hoped that someday, in the next 3, 4, maybe even 5 years, I could go to Ukraine.

After I learned about this opportunity to go to Ukraine, as I watched the pieces and details fit into place, I kept thinking of this verse in Isaiah 43:19:

“Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it?”

Yes, I do perceive it now, and it is more than anything I could ever imagine!  I am so excited, and I am so humbled by God’s grace and His directing hand in all of this.  I don’t know what the coming weeks will hold, but my desire is that I would continue to look to God first and that I would live for the praise of His glory and grace.

I’ll continue to blog as much as possible during my trip, and I’ll take pictures too, as many as I can!  I would appreciate your prayers, especially for safe travel tomorrow.  Also, please pray for the family who I will be assisting, that all will go well and smoothly as they complete their girls’ adoption.

1 Comment »

  1. Kristen said,

    Wow Hayley– I just read through your recent posts. I was a bit surprised a few weeks ago when you were “coming back from Ukraine” and thought, “What?” The way this happened is so crazy amazing. I am glad you got to go, and it looks like it was a rich time! : )


Leave a Reply

