May 13, 2013

Monday . . .. mmmmmm?

Posted in Blogging, Books, Fantasy, Just Life, Poetry tagged at 10:16 am by catsinboxes

Brainstorming for blog posts is not recommended,

while lying in bed –sleep apprehended.

Tomorrow is Monday, Monday what?

I need an m-word that just hits the spot!

Mundane . . . morning . . . mayhem . . .

none good though some are true.

Alliteration’s clever but can be hard to do!

I went to sleep without a satisfactory answer, but it came to me this morning after my coffee.  (Of course, much better timing!) It was perfect! I will reveal it in a moment, but first a quick note.  While I have been away from blogging, I certainly haven’t been away from writing. I think I’ve written and brainstormed more recently than I have in a long time. I’ve written letters, emails, newsletters for Redeemed Reader, a book review, journal entries, story ideas, story snippets,
and –truthfully– quite a lot of blog ideas. And now, my friends, you will receive the fruit of my labors on the first . . .

Mention it Monday!

What to mention? Books, of course! I read a couple recently that I have wanted to highlight and, incidentally, the first both begins with an ‘M’ and was written by an author whose last name is also ‘M.’ (I am sorry, I’m just seeing ‘m’s all over the place this morning!) True to this blog post, the following are not reviews but mere mentions. (Hah, hah! Another allusion, oh I’m bad this morning!)

The Moorchildby Eloise Jarvis McGraw 

After reviewing Mara, Daughter of the Nile for Redeemed Reader, I decided to read another of McGraw’s books that I had often seen but never read. The Moorchild, written in 1996, won a Newbery Honor, so it is not lacking in appreciation from the children’s literature community.  I enjoyed it –I love bringing children’s books with me when I travel; they are perfect airplane reading material! The story was enjoyable. It’s fantasy, and I am used to historical fiction from McGraw, so this was a bit different. It is very well-written, but after reading the gushing commendations on the back cover, I wonder how much of an agenda was behind it.  Saaski is caught between two worlds: the world of the moor and the fairyfolk, and the world of the superstitious villagers.  I feel like there is symbolism going on, and I’d like to dig deeper at some point, figuring out what McGraw believed and how it influenced The Moorchild.

The Emerald Atlas —by John Stephens

I first read about this at Redeemed Reader. A look at Amazon’s sample left me intrigued; I
tracked it down at Barnes and Noble and spent about 5 minutes with my nose between the pages, but I just was too cheap to buy it! Retrospectively, I am glad I didn’t. My chance to read The Emerald Atlas came after it appeared at our library, and I remembered to look for it. I brought it on the same trip as The Moorchild, and as airport reading material, it served me very well. It is a thick book, think Cornelia Funke’s Inkheart trilogy, so it did keep me occupied! (Especially thanks to airport delays; imagine getting up at 4 something in the morning, only to get to the airport, find delays, and spend several hours on the tarmac waiting for weather to clear in Chicago.  . . .  Oh the joys of travel!) While definitely entertaining, I would say that The Emerald Atlas is a bit dark for younger readers.  Personally, I really didn’t like the way time traveling worked out; it wasn’t logical in my opinion. The characters are interesting and likeable but sometimes their decisions are implausible and their thinking difficult to understand. There’s a sequel (I believe it will be a trilogy), but I am not itching to read it. Still, I might given the chance and another airplane flight.

And that, my dear readers, is the first of –hopefully– many more Mention it Mondays!

Leave a Reply

