May 17, 2013

Friday Finds

Posted in Blogging, Books, Favorite Quotes, Just Life at 10:22 pm by catsinboxes

It’s the end of the day, I’m another day older.  And I’m tired.  But oh do I have some new books!  You see, there was . . .

A Library Book Sale Today

And it was a good one.  I have two tote-bags of books to prove that, and I’m already thinking how library booksales themselves deserve a post.  But that is for later.  For now, let me show you five books that I got today and am excited to read.

The Professor and the Madman: A Tale of Murder, Insanity, and the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary by Simon Winchester

-Word nerd that I am, this looks very intriguing!  Also, it’s relatively thin, so it should be a quick read.

Dictionary of Chivalry by Grant Uden  

-I know, you’re thinking, “whaaat?”  I glanced at it in passing and thought “Oh, that’d be interesting.  I don’t need it.”  –Told you I was a word nerd.–  And then I saw the illustrator: Pauline Baynes.  Mean anything to you?  (For the uninformed or forgetful of names, she illustrated The Chronicles of Narnia.)  Narnia fans, be jealous, it’s got lots of pictures!!!

Unbroken by Laura Hllenbrand

-I’ve heard a lot of good things about this book, so I’m excited to have a beautiful, brand-new hardback w/dust jacket.  Only a dollar; I LOVE the prices at booksales!

Not The End of the World by Geraldine McCaughrean

-I really enjoy Geraldine McCaughrean’s classic adaptations; she’s a name I know and respect.  This book has the potential to be brilliant or blasphemous since it’s a fictitious account of the flood which seems to take some artistic license: adding a daughter of Noah to the mix.  We’ll see . . . it was 50 cents.

Mortal Engines by Philip Reeve

-After reading Redeemed Reader’s review of this, I was intrigued.  A dystopian future where cities are mechanized and move across barren wastelands.  I love the first sentence: “It was a dark, blustery afternoon in spring, and the city of London was chasing a small mining town across the dried-out bed of the old North Sea.”

This quote says it all!
Leave a Reply

