May 24, 2013

Forget Pinterest

Posted in Blogging, Books, Culture, Humor, Just Life at 7:58 pm by catsinboxes

Until two weeks ago, I held aloof.  I watched others get involved with Pinterest.  I chuckled over Facebook laments by husbands who had lost their wives to its charms.  I did sometimes look at it, but the looks never went farther than a few clicks.  Simply put, I didn’t want to get sucked in.  I like my time, thank you, and I already don’t have enough of it!  There might have been a pride factor too, that I hadn’t hopped on that bandwagon.

But, considering I work with a blog –not this one, Redeemed Reader— that is seeking to grow via social media, and because I wouldn’t mind my own blog growing, I thought it would be good to get a little more connected.  So, I first rekindled my Twitter account and then took the plunge for Pinterest.

And you know what?  I haven’t spent much time on it!  Sure, it’s nice.  Sure, it’s full of neat ideas.  But aside from using it to hunt up an occasional image for my blog, I’m not hooked.  Trust me, I like it that way!

Then, today, I discovered something.  It’s not Pinterest, but it’s something else, something that I’ve accessed before, something that I’ve enjoyed.  Occasionally, I thought about getting an account, getting official, but I never got around to it . . . until today.

In a few simple steps, I got an account.  And oh, joy, it was amazing!  I loved every moment of the set-up, I got absorbed in building my profile, I could have spent all morning, but I realized it and conquered the urge.  The laptop was closed and stowed downstairs –beyond temptation’s reach.

What is it, you ask, that is better than Pinterest?  I would argue right now –and I think into the foreseeable future– that goodreads is much, much better than Pinterest!

As I write, the browser tab is open, and it is calling me.  I’ll probably succumb to a little more by the end of evening.

A picture on Pinterest might be worth a thousand words, but not in my book!

Do you have a favorite social media site –beyond the biggies?  And which would you rather have: Twitter or Facebook?   I love the social connection on Facebook, but as a writer I really like Twitter.  There’s a lot less room for rambling and more opportunity for cleverness.  #andhashtagsaregreat     

2 Comments »

  1. crazymom1386 said,

    Yay, I was getting tired of rereading my books. I had never heard of goodreads before. Now I have something that will make it easier for me to part with money for a book.(I spent way to much money one time on a bunch of books and only read about 1/3 of them.) 🙂

    • catsinboxes said,

      Oh, I hope you enjoy goodreads. It’s a great resource for finding new books!


Leave a Reply

